WELCOME

A new glass-museum at Rosenau

Since 2008 the European Museum of Modern Glass has been housed in a new building opposite the orangery of Schloss Rosenau in Rödental, thanks first and foremost to the Coburg entrepreneur and arts patron Otto Waldrich.

This building offers 1,260 m² of exhibition space. The permanent exhibition on the ground floor shows the development of studio glass from the 1960s to the present. Besides creatively designed functional glassware and objects, visitors can also view sculptures and installations in glass. The core of the exhibition consists of works which were submitted for the three Coburg Glass Prize competitions in the years 1977, 1985 and 2006.

A glass staircase leads to the special exhibition room and the lampwork studio on the first floor. Here on the gallery, visitors can also find out more about how glass is made and the different ways of working it.

Since April 2012, the basement floor of the museum has housed the Ceramic Study Collection. With more than 500 exhibits by over 250 international ceramic artists, this is the largest display of modern ceramics in southern Germany.

European Museum of Modern Glass Rödental
Exhibition European Museum of Modern Glass Rödental

WILLKOMMEN

Ein neues Glasmuseum in der Rosenau

Seit 2008 ist das Europäische Museum für Modernes Glas in einem Neubau, der vor allem dem Coburger Unternehmer und Mäzen Otto Waldrich zu verdanken ist, gegenüber der Orangerie von Schloss Rosenau in Rödental zu finden.

Der lang gestreckte Bau besitzt 1.260 m² Ausstellungsfläche. In der Dauerausstellung des Erdgeschosses wird die Entwicklung des Studioglases von den 1960er Jahren bis heute gezeigt. Neben künstlerisch gestaltetem Gebrauchsglas und Objekten sind Skulpturen und Installationen aus Glas zu sehen. Kern der Sammlung bilden Werke, die auf den vier Coburger Glaspreisen der Jahre 1977, 1985, 2006 und 2014 präsentiert wurden.

Eine Glastreppe führt ins Obergeschoss zum Sonderausstellungsraum und zum Lampenglasstudio. Hier auf der Galerie erfährt der Besucher darüber hinaus Informationen zur Herstellung von Glas und dessen unterschiedlichen Verarbeitungsmöglichkeiten.

Seit April 2012 ist im Untergeschoss des Museums die Studiensammlung Keramik untergebracht. Über 500 Exponate von über 250 internationalen Keramikern bilden die größte Präsentation an moderner Keramik im süddeutschen Raum.

Europäisches Museum für Modernes Glas Rödental
Ausstellung Europäisches Museum für Modernes Glas Rödental